Practice What You Preach

The age-old saying is a cliche for a reason. I’m currently studying Mechanical Engineering in school, but took the summer off to live in New York for three months because I was burnt out, and wanted to “rediscover myself” (I’m just bursting with cliche-ness today). When I came into the city, I was having doubts about what I wanted to do with my life. As of right now, as I type, I am happy to say that I am more confused than I have ever been. I’ve been jumping from gig to gig (if you can even call them that), and trying to find out what different people in fashion and sustainability are doing in this wonderful city that I hope I can call home one day. An issue that I am constantly coming across is that everybody can talk the talk, but when it comes to pursuing action, planning next steps, they shy away or think on such a small level that I’m embarrassed to have had that conversation with them. We need more people who are raising awareness when it comes to sustainability, and it’s great that people will go and march in a rally, but then what? Government and corporations aren’t going to listen to grassroots groups. And if you call yourself an activist, buy yourself a renewable water bottle, and call it a day, nobody important is going to take you seriously.

Unfortunately, I’ve come across more than a couple of people who operate that way. I think it’s important to constantly be aware, and think of ways that you can incorporate sustainability into what you hope to pursue. For myself, for example, I love fashion, and I also love renewable energy. I follow a bunch of environmental/non-environmental/fashion websites to keep up to speed on what’s happening in all of these spheres, and to figure out a way to be able to make a career out of all of these things. I would love to be rich, but what’s more important to me is that I can tangibly leave the world a better place than when I entered it. I consider this way more important than some arrogant classmate who will look down at me because they programmed a tiny fucking button in Facebook or something.

So I’m not really sure what this blog is going to grow into, but so far I’ve put up a couple of pages with change-makers who I admire, and ways that the general public can learn to engage in something that matters. I also realize that this is not my best-written work, so excuse the mind dump.

Leave a Reply

